top of page

Inverclyde 5 Mile

Despite the weather, Sunday’s Inverclyde 5 Mile and RAAA Road Race Championships

hosted by Inverclyde AC was a successful day in many ways for the club.

It was great to see so many juniors participating across the age groups and gaining team

medals to boost their confidence. There were also some individual successes and perhaps

the best boost for the club was that the Ladies team were on the podium for the first time

in many years with Millie McClelland -Brooks (U’20), Nynke Mulholland -Stummer (Sen);

Faye Currie(F40) representing the range of the Ladies section.

With Thanks to the Staff of Inverclyde Leisure at Battery Park, club volunteers,

scotishathletics officials and Protay Timing Systems, the course was set up and ready for the

first race of the day at 10:30am, The Inverclyde 5 Mile.

RAAA comprised of 6 clubs, Bellahouston Harriers, Bellahouston Road Runners, Giffnock

North AAC, Greenock Glenpark Harriers, Inverclyde AC, & Kilbarchan AAC with all 6 clubs represented over the racing programme. Before the 5-mile race began, Cameron Spence, Past President of the RAAA said a few words about the death of Colin Shields who had been the long-term treasurer of the association and a stalwart of Scottishathletics events. This was followed by a moment of silence as mark of respect.

Inverclyde’s John Bell set out with determination to take the Championship title and led the

U’20; senior participants on a lap round the park before heading out to the Esplanade.

Once the last of the 130+ runners had left the park, it was the turn of the youngest competitors to be on the start line.

The Minis race for 5–8-year-olds was 1 lap of the park with 18 youngsters participating.

First to finish was Reenie Henry P4 ahead of Elsie Tyler from Giffnock North AAC in second.

All the competitors received the Minis Challenge 2024 medal with the first 3 in each primary

stage an individual medal. Many Thanks to the Minis Coaches and parents for supporting

this event.

John Bell returned to the park having opened the gap to finish nearly a minute ahead of

second placed Ross Goode of Giffnock North AAC who had an 8 second gap on third place

Matthew O’Connor of Bellahouston Harriers.

First female to finish was Inverclyde’s Millie-McClelland- Brooks to take the U’20 women’s

gold medal 2 nd finisher was teammate Nynke Mulholland -Stummer who won the senior gold medal ahead of Lucy Mitchell of Bellahouston Road runners in 2 nd place and Kristina Greig of Bellahouston Harriers in 3 rd . Both Millie & Nynke are coached by Norrie Hay.

Inverclyde’s David Henderson took the gold medal for the M40 category with Rob Paterson

winning in the M50 category. In the M40 category there were solid performances from Alan

Callan in 5 th place and Thomas Jamieson in 13 th .

Inverclyde AC were then on the team podium with the men in silver position, John Bell

supported by David Henderson, Jason Kane, Robert Paterson Alan Callan, and Club captain

Sean Gaffney. The ladies were also on the podium with Faye Currie F40 joining Millie &

Nynke for the bronze medal.

The programme then continued with the junior events starting with the U’11 Boys and it

was great to see 9 black & white vests as the pack raced over the mile course within the

park. This was the first time that Chip timing was used for the junior events and thanks to

Protay Systems who delivered this successfully.

Louis Reid was at the front throughout setting the pace with Christopher Cameron of

Giffnock North AAC, A close fast finish saw Louis just edged out to take silver and lead his

team to the silver medal with Oliver Bjonness and Rudy Byrne taking the other 2 counting

places supported by. Konrad Monie, Rory Crawford, Dominic Burrows, Jamie & Sam Fulton all competing for the first time at these championships and running strongly to gain places in the closing stages.

There were 6 competitors from Inverclyde AC in the U’11 Girls, Rosie Callan led the team to

another silver medal as she finished strongly in 3 rd to take a welcome individual bronze

medal and was supported by Anna Shearer, Annie Henry, Emily Kane, Catriona Pringle, and

Lucy Macfarlane all focused on playing their part for the team.

The U’13 race over 3K involved both boys & girls and again the Inverclyde coaching team were delighted to see a good turnout in this age group.

Matthew Gerrard was first to finish for Inverclyde and led the team of Sol Currie, Argyll

Paton, Malcolm Monie & Fraser Stirling to the bronze medal. Oliva Lyne was first girl to

finish just out of the individual medals in 4 th place but took consolation with the girls’ team

winning the club’s 4 th silver team medal of the day supported by Nuala Munro, Amber

McIlroy, Cara McDougall, Layna Morgan, Leah Kane, Millie Anderson.

The fields were smaller in the U’15 race over 3K and unfortunately despite the best efforts

of Oliver Arthur in 5 th place and Jack Hughes in 7 th , missing a 3 rd finisher meant there was no team position. The U’15 girls, however, did not share this fate and with Kiera Gregory

supported by Molly Fairish, Lucy Neilson, Pearl Paterson, Inverclyde AC were on the podium

again to take their 5 th silver team medal.

Liam Kane was the only representative from the club in the U’17 race over 4.K ran

determinedly despite not having any team to support him.

Many Thanks to coaches, Kay Cooke, Alan Callan & Jane Lynne for team managing the


Events like this do not happen without a substantial amount of effort and support both

before and during the event. The club is indebted to both its own volunteers, to the officials

of Scottishathletics, to the staff of Inverclyde Leisure at the Battery Park, Amvale for First

Aid and to our Results team Protay Systems.

Scottishathletics officials: Margaret-Ann MacLachlan Colin MacLachlan, Mike Belch, George

Newman, Catriona Gourlay, Connie Traynor RAAA. Cameron Spence (Past President) Protay Systems Sharon Taylor, Jamie Provan Club: Gerry Gaffney, Jon Hammerman, Sean Gaffney

Keir Arthur, Mick Barry, Rhona Bushfield Alan &Morven Callan, Kay Cooke

Faye & Sol Currie Jan Gaffney Karen & Morris Glen Allan & Brenda Hainey,

Gordon & June Hammerman, Norrie Hay, Janice Hendrie, Geraldine Henry,

Gillian Hughes, Pamela Jamieson, Kim Law, Jane Lyne, Collette McGeehan, Lynne Owens,

Iris & Robert Paterson, Millie Paton, Kate & Nicol Reid, Megan Stirling, Tom Tracey.

Photographers: Peter McLaughlin & Campbell Skinner

Minis results (All Inverclyde Minis unless otherwise stated)

1. R.Henry P4 2. E.Tyler P4 GNAAC 3. R.Callan P3 4. J.Mooney P3

5. O.Barry P3 6. M.Jamieson P3 7. S.Shirra P4 8. J.Pringle P3

9. M.Gregory P3 10. T.Smith P1 11. F.Delussey (Guest)12. C.Pollard P4

13. R.Bevan P2 14. Q.Arthur P3 15. A.McFarlane P1 16. A.Bryson P1

17. H.Pavia P2 18. E. Docherty P2

For more information about club activities, either go to the club website

and click on the dropdown button ‘Contact Us’ or email

Inverclyde AC is supported by Diodes Inc, Inverclyde Council, Inverclyde Leisure, Smiths of

Greenock, Succession Wealth.

Inverclyde AC is an accredited club with Active Schools Inverclyde.


Recent Posts

See All

Loch Thom Trail

Inverclyde Athletic Club’s Loch Thom Trail Race has raised an impressive £1,000 for Athletics Trust Scotland, supporting the charity’s ambitions to improve accessibility in the sport. More than 100 ru

Scottish 10,000m Champs

It was a medal rush for Inverclyde Athletic Club at the Scottish 10,000m Championships, with three athletes standing on the podium at Crownpoint Stadium in Glasgow. Both Paul Friend and Rob Paterson w


bottom of page